Guest Editors

Kathrin Oester

Kathrin Oester is a social anthropologist, specialist in media anthropology, education and migration. She teaches media anthropology in many universities and has created the media anthropology curriculum at the Institute of Social Anthropology, University of Bern. She directed many ethnographic movie projects and is (co)author of articles and books about media anthropology and migration. She is currently working as a director of research and development at the Applied University

kathrin.oester@phbern.ch

PHBern, Fabrikstrasse 2, 3012 Bern

Authors

Sonja Schenkel

Sonja Schenkel is a doctoral candidate in Social Anthropology at the Graduate Institute of International Relations and Development Studies, Geneva.

sonja.schenkel@graduateinstitute.ch

Sandra Mooser

Sandra Mooser works in the field of adult education an is a doctoral student at the Institute of Social Anthropology, University of Bern. For her doctoral project, she has produced a movie in partnership with african migrants.

sandra.mooser@anthro.unibe.ch

Institut für Sozialanthropologie, Universität Bern, Länggassstrasse 49a, 3000 Bern 9

Mark Allen Peterson

Mark Allen Peterson Mark Allen Peterson is a professor of anthropology and international studies at Miami University of Ohio.

petersm2@miamioh.edu

Erika Thomas

Erika Thomas Erika Thomas is Professor in Cinema, Audiovisual and media anthropology at the Catholic University of Lille, associate researcher of the « texts and cultures » research team (University of Artoir) and associate researcher at IRCAV Paris 3 Sorbonne Nouvelle, Paris.

erthomas@nordnet.fr

Beatrice Tobler

Beatrice Tobler, MA in european ethnology, since 2012 she works as an exhibition curator at the Open-air Museum Ballenberg.

beatrice.tobler@ballenberg.ch

Jan Torpus

Jan Torpus, MA in Design Research, BA in Audiovisual creation and interior architecture, freelance digital media artist. Lecturer and researcher at the Institute of Design and Art Studies, HGK FHNW, Basel.

jan.torpus@fhnw.ch

Rolf Wolfensberger

Jan Torpus, MA in Design Research, BA in Audiovisual creation and interior architecture, freelance digital media artist. Lecturer and researcher at the Institute of Design and Art Studies, HGK FHNW, Basel.

rolf.wolfensberger@zhdk.ch

Stefan Selke

Prof. PhD Stefan Selke teaches sociology at the Furtwangen University (Germany). His research interests are social and technological change.
www.stefan-selke.de

ses@hs-furtwangen.de

Iulia Hasdeu

Iulia Hasdeu is a social anthropologist. Her current interests are postcolonial and subaltern studies and teaches gender studies at the University of Geneva. Etudes genre, Université de Genève

iulia.hasdeu@unige.ch

Laura Coppens

Laura Coppens is a doctoral candidate at the Institute of Social Anthropology, University of Zurich. She is currently finishing her dissertation project on «Cultural Subversion: Film, Activism, and Sexual Politics in Contemporary Indonesia» at the NYU Center for Media, Culture and History in New York.

laura.coppens@uzh.ch

Center for Media, Culture and History, New York University, 25 Waverly Place New York, NY 10003, USA

Andrea Jacot-Descombes

Andrea Jacot-Descombes is a teaching assistant at the Anthropology Institute of the University of Neuchâtel. His interests include theatre anthropology, ethnomusicology and anthropology of creative processes.

andrea.jacot@unine.ch

Institut d’Ethnologie, Université de Neuchâtel, Saint-Nicolas 4, CH-2000 Neuchâtel, +41 32 718 17 14

Madlen Kobi

Madlen Kobi is since 2010 doctoral student in the SNF research project ‹Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region and Chinese Territoriality: The Use and Perception of Urban Spaces in a Region in Transformation›.

kobi@anthro.unibe.ch

Institut für Sozialanthropologie, Länggassstrasse 49a, 3000 Bern 9, 031 631 53 57

Marc Tadorian

Marc Tadorian is a doctoral candidate at the Transnational Studies Laboratory, University of Neuchâtel. He is preparing his dissertation about the Ethnogepgraphy of graffiti-writing worlds.

marc.tadorian@unine.ch

Willemjin de Jong
Isabelle Csupor
Anne Lavanchy
Laurence Ossipow
Cecilia Pennacini
Giacomo Vagni
Hans-Rudolf Wicker
Georg Winterberger
Anne Zwahlen